Mayor inducts first Order of Ottawa recipients

on .

City of Ottawa

Mayor Jim Watson inducted 15 of Ottawa's most outstanding residents into the Order of Ottawa during a ceremony this evening at Ottawa City Hall.

Those inducted by Mayor Watson into the Order of Ottawa are: Moe Atallah, Dr. John Bell, Paul Benoit, Hélène Campbell, Jim Durrell, Allison Fisher, Robert Gillett, Marc Jolicoeur, Terry Kelly, Russell Mills, Diane Morrison, Nazira Naz Tareen, Gisèle Richer, Christine Tremblay and Sara Vered.

"I am honoured to recognize these outstanding individuals with the Order of Ottawa", said Mayor Watson. "Through their professional contributions they have not only made Ottawa a great place to live, but they also represent how one person's actions can make a difference in the lives of others and their community."

The Brian Kilrea Award was also awarded this evening to Don Campbell. This civic award was created by the City in 2003 to acknowledge the contribution of an amateur coach who best exemplifies the qualities of leadership and commitment that have been the hallmarks of Brian Kilrea's career.

A list of Order of Ottawa inductees will be permanently displayed on a wall on the first floor of City Hall, across from the list of recipients of the Key to the City, near Jean Pigott Place.

This Order of Ottawa civic award recognizes exceptional citizen contributions in the many areas of city life including arts and culture, business, community service, education, public service, labour, communications and media, science, sports and entertainment or other fields of endeavour that benefit the citizens of Ottawa.

Almost 100 nominations were received from the public and recipients of the Order of Ottawa were chosen by a Selection Committee comprised of the Mayor, City Clerk and Solicitor, Chief of Police, Chief of Protocol, City Archivist and the Chief Executive Officer, Library Services.

For more information regarding the Order of Ottawa, visit